On consequences

Certain events of late have made me ponder the issue of cosequences (and yes- this will be a long rambling back and forth or pros and cons). Christian used to say that people have to teach eachother that you can’t behave badly without consequences. Not because it is a matter of principle (right should be right or that sort of thing) nor as a means of maintaining your selfrespect (eventhough that might be a good reason), but simply because the next person who is treated wrongly might actually really get hurt. And we only learn that or actions have consequences if they actually do. 

Eventhough I agree with this reasoning I find myself coming up with many good reasons (maybe to be called excuses) for not standing up for my rights. One being that I dont want to get all wired up over the injustices that I have been victim to. I know how my brain can start spinning and getting all worked up finding all the reasons for why another person has wronged me in this and that way. It somehow doesnt feel right to spend all that energy on one wrongdoing when I am so priveliged in all other ways and having my suroundings listen to my complaints as a consequence. It somehow seems more constructive from a personal perspective to focus on the solutions than the conflict.

Another point is of course that conflicts are uncomfortable and if you unwind a potential conflict you never know where it will end. So it is easier to shy them. Especially if you have to meet the other person everyday in the future. But coming back to my original point I think it is rather selfish of me to reason this way. Studying law I have come to learn that much of the development of case law in certain field is spearheaded by so called “rättshaverister”- a term for which I have not found the appropriate English translation. Rättshaverister are persons to continuously file claims and feel perpetually mistreated and want a justification through the legal system- a kind of legal hypochondria. Eventhough this probably dont make them particularly happy individuals the rest of us bear the fruit of their misery  though the development of case law. So perhaps I should bear the consequences of my own reasoning and bite not only the sweet but also the sour part of the big apple and claim my rights.

Leave a comment